Christian Patterson, Gong Co.
2015/2016 Grand Prix Images Vevey Winner
International Photography Award of Vevey, Switzerland
Call closed

About Grand Prix Images Vevey

The International Photography Award Grand Prix Images Vevey, worth CHF 40,000 (~ EUR 37,000), is one of the largest and longest-standing prizes in Europe. It is project oriented and open to professional artists and photographers or those in training of all ages, worldwide. The grant goes to one project to be produced in one year and that is then exhibited at Festival Images Vevey the following year.

Juror information

Swiss-American artist Christian Marclay, whose approach is marked by a singular and consistant use of photography, will preside over the Jury of the Grand Prix Images Vevey and the Images Vevey Book Award, featuring:
Simon Baker, Senior Curator, International Art (Photography), Tate London
Lars Boering, Managing Director, World Press Photo Amsterdam
Darius Himes, International Head of Photographs, Christie’s, New York
Luce Lebart, Director of the Canadian Photography Institute of the National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa.


12 January, 2017
Submission Opens
26 February, 11.59pm (midnight) CET
Submission Deadline
20 March, 2017
Shortlist Announcement
1 May, 2017
Winner Announcement
8 September, 2018
Prize Ceremony & Opening Festival Images Vevey


Submission Requirements
- work not yet published
- 1st step: online submission
- 2nd step: print submission (if among shortlisted projects)
Entrance Fees
regular fee EUR 60

Entry details

Open to all artists and professional and student photographers, the Grand Prix Images Vevey grants the winner the indivisible sum of CHF 40,000 (approx. EUR 37,000) for the development, achievement and presentation of a project at the following Festival Images.

The five-stage process of Grand Prix Images Vevey

1. Applicants fill in an online form and pay a EUR 60 fee.
2. At the end of the first phase, a pre-jury selects a maximum of one hundred projects.
3. The shortlisted artists send in their portfolio by mail.
4. The Jury selects the winning project by the end of April.
5. The winner has one year to complete his/her project and present it at the following Festival Images.

Previous Winners

Winner 2015/2016
Christian Patterson (USA) - Gong Co.
Winner 2013/2014
Augustin Rebetez (Switzerland) - arrière-tête (mécanismes)
Winner 2011/2012
Yasmine Eid-Sabbagh & Rozenn Quéré (Germany/Lebanon et France) - Vies possibles et imaginaires
Winner 2009/2010
G.M.B Akash (Bangladesh) – Christian Lutz (Switzerland)
Winner 2007/2008
Geert Goiris (Belgium)
Winner 2006
Claude Baechtold (Switzerland)
Winner 2004
Aglaia Konrad (Austria)
Winner 2000
Wolfgang Stahr (Germany)
Winner 1998
Bogdan Konopka (Poland)
Winner 1995
Paulo Nozolino (Portugal)
Call closed